Rain, rain go away

Hole in tree

The rain continues here, what happened to our summer I don’t know.  It’s an interesting dilemma, on one hand the rain is good for the land and stop the sun burning everything, however on the other it’s cold and dark, not great for the happiness quota!  I wonder how many people end up being treated for depression, or are untreated because it hasn’t been recognized.

So what can we do to feel better?  For me one of the ways is to recognize that I’m feeling bad and acknowledging it.  I can’t stop the rain so what can I do to make me feel better.  Sometimes it’s just recognizing that I’m feeling bad, and I can move on, others it’s some chocolate, or something sweet, others it’s a song or going for a walk, actually thinking about it walking in the rain is so refreshing, and sometimes wallowing for a wee while is okay.

For a long while I kept it with me, sorrow at the feeling that is, and took it out on others, coming home mad taking it out on the boys but that is not the way to do things and it wasn’t fair on them.  So, how can I ensure that I don’t do it again, so apart from acknowledging it I need to recognize what I can do to deal with it better.  I look at this picture and look at the tenacity of the tree, if you look at the picture you can see the roots of the tree still hanging on in there, so how do you deal with sadness and what do you suggest?

About maedbh

An experienced fundraising executive of over 30 years, I have recently set out on a new adventure - Executive and Life Coaching, something I wished I had known about even 10 years ago. I am unique, as a mother of two teenage boys, I bring a lifetime of experiences, living my younger years in the Middle East and Europe, moving to Canada in my late twenties and continuing to commute between my new Country, Europe and Asia. My new adventure includes learning to use new mediums to communicate including this, my blog. I hope you enjoy it, please let me know your thoughts on my posts, my photographs and anything else you wish to comment upon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

